mHealthSys: Second International Workshop on Mobile Systems, Applications, and Services for Healthcare
held at ACM SenSys 2012
November 6, 2012
Toronto, Canada


* Complete program is now available.
* Prof. Charlene Quinn will be our medical keynote speaker.
* Prof. Jack Stankovic will be our Sensor Networks keynote speaker.
* NSF student travel grant recipients: Vinaitheerthan Sundaram (Purdue), Philip Asare (U.Virginia), Onur Mudanyali (UCLA), Paul D Martin (UCLA), Syed Monowar Hossain (UMemphis), Amin Ahsan Ali (UMemphis), and Aarathi Prasad (Dartmouth)
* Accepted papers will appear as electronic proceedings in ACM
* NSF Student Travel Grant Application (pdf) available, submission deadline is September 23, 2012
* Registration site is now open. Deadline for early registration is October 7th. We encourage participants to register early.
* Venue/hotel/transportation information are now available.
* Poster and demo submissions website is up
* Sponsors, please refer to the Sponsorship page.


mHealthSys 2012 is the second International workshop on mobile systems, applications, and services for healthcare. It will explore, encourage, and accelerate advances in wearable sensing, mobile phone sensing, algorithms, applications, and services that aim to deliver healthcare in the unconstrained mobile environment of individuals. Recent advances in technology such as miniaturization of sensing and computing devices, new bio sensing modalities (e.g. respiration, SpO2), increasing use of mobile phone sensors for health care, and wireless integration of wearable sensors with smart phones are accelerating the deployment of mobile systems for healthcare. In the mHealthSys 2012 workshop, we will bring together a group of researchers with expertise in mobile systems, sensor systems, and medical informatics to push the state of the art of research at the intersection of mobile systems, sensor systems, and healthcare. We seek high quality submissions from the mobile and sensor systems as well as the medical informatics community that describe original work and have not been previously published elsewhere. Accepted papers and demos will be included in ACM electronics proceedings.

Important Dates

Paper Submission Deadline: August 08, 2012, 11:59 pm EST
Notification of Paper Acceptance: September 09, 2012
Demo and Poster Submission Deadline: September 23, 2012, 11:59 pm EST
Notification of Demo and Poster Acceptance: September 30, 2012
NSF Student Travel Grant Application Deadline: September 23, 2012, 11:59 pm EST
Notification of NSF Student Travel Grant: September 27, 2012

Organizing Committee

General Chair
Raghu Ganti (IBM T. J. Watson Research Center)

Program Chairs
John Burruss (Baylor College of Medicine)
Ashutosh Sabharwal (Rice University)



Rice SHRice SH

In addition to sponsorhsip from the parent conference, ACM SenSys